Force India F1

Sergio Perez Commits To Force India For The 2017 Formula1 Season

After months of speculation, Sergio Perez has finally committed to staying with Force India for the 2017 Formula1 season.

Sergio Perez - Force India F1
Sergio Perez confirms his place with Force India for the 2017 Season

After months of speculations regarding the future of Sergio Perez with Force India, the F1 driver has finally confirmed his place with his current team for the 2017 season of Formula1. Speculations and rumours of Perez switching over to either Renault or more tentatively with Williams were high, but none of them turned out to be true.

Force India did seem to have kept the option open for the Mexican F1 driver for their 2017 season, with commercial deals with the 26-year old’s sponsors also to be put in place. Now with all the arrangements with the sponsors and other deals in place, Sergio Perez has confirmed his place in the Force India F1 team for the 2017 season for the fourth consecutive year along with team-mate Nico Hulkenberg.

Sergio Perez - Force India F1
Sergio Perez will remain with Force India for the fourth consecutive year, along with team-mate Nico Hulkenberg

Sergio Perez has had a strong season till date with his current team, scoring 65 points in the Driver’s Championship points and also helping Force India F1 Team secure fourth place in the Constructor’s Championship above Williams F1 Team currently. Major highlights of Perez’s season have been the third place finishes in both Monaco Grand Prix and the Baku Circuit.

Sergio Perez - Force India F1
Perez has had a strong season with Force India with the highlights being third place finishes at Monaco and Baku

With Perez now confirming his place at Force India, this leaves out only 10 slots available for the next season with two at Williams, Renault, Sauber and Manor and one apiece at Haas and Torro Rosso.

According to various reports, 17-year old Lance Stroll who is to be crowned the F3 Champion this weekend will be set to partner Valtteri Bottas for Williams. While Esteban Gutierrez will retain his seat with the Haas F1 team along with team-mate Romain Grosjean, similarly Daniel Kvyat will retain his seat at the Torro Rosso, with Carlos Sainz Jr. confirming for the next year as well.


Leave a Reply